History & Governance

From its inception, Pioneer has been enriched with a religious and spiritual foundation that still drives its commitment to meeting human need and offering hospitality to those we serve.

Following two years of planning, fundraising and building, Pioneer Memorial Home was established in 1928 with pioneer congregations of Bethlehem, First and Zion Lutheran Churches. Following the ELCA merger in 1988, Augustana and Hope Lutheran Churches became sponsors as well.

PioneerCare is a non-profit corporation governed by a board of directors. Today, the Bylaws provide for representation from each sponsoring church on the Pioneer Corporate Board of Directors. The corporate board meets monthly.

At Pioneer, the work of the church is extended as we minister to human needs through the PioneerCare Center, PioneerCare Suites, Pioneer Pointe, Pioneer Cottages, PioneerLink and wherever our mission of human caring takes place. Our shared ministry with our sponsoring congregations strengthens the whole church as each of us offers our unique talents for the purpose of helping others in our communities.

Corporate Board of Directors

  • Bonnie Denzel
  • Joe Ellig
  • Lyle Hoxtell
  • Larry Mathison, Chairperson
  • Dean Monke
  • Donna Quam, Secretary
  • Brad Skogen
  • Ed Strand
  • Brad Tollerson
  • Peggy Underwood
  • Richard Werner, Vice Chairperson


  • Nathan Johnson, Chief Executive Officer
  • Sara Watkins, Administrator

Return to Home

Log in